History of Cadbury House
Cadbury House has a fascinating history that brings much life and character to the venue. The original house, which forms the central part of the venue, dates back to 1790 where it served as a private residence set within 800 acres of woodland. Between 1939 and 1955 Cadbury House then became a school known as St David’s. Later the house evolved into a luxury country club, providing a stunning backdrop for hunt balls, medieval banquets and charity events. Set against stunning views of the Bristol Channel and beyond into Wales, Cadbury House benefits from a breathtaking hilltop location, just 30 minutes from Bristol city centre.
The past few years have seen Cadbury House transform into the awe-inspiring venue it is today. Purchased by Nick Taplin and Simon Matthews-Williams in 2003, the venue has benefited from a £28.0 million makeover. With 132 bedrooms, this four star boutique venue boasts an enviable portfolio of onsite properties including a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and the award-winning Club and Spa Bristol.
Part of Cadbury’s success can be attributed to the consistent occupancy levels achieved throughout the week. The management team are always looking for ways to improve the level of service and pay particular attention to the finer details that make a hotel-stay so enjoyable.